Kimilyn

kimiweb

To Kimi, Until we meet on the fields of Elysium.

One of the biggest reasons I love gaming of all types is the way it brings people together.  I’ve met so many amazing people by simply being interested in a certain video game, or a tabletop game, or even a collectible card game.  Some of the most lasting friendships I have were forged through those shared passions.  You can learn a lot about the kind of person behind the keyboard or on the other side of the table in such a short time.  A lot of it is in their play style and how they react to a challenging situation (or an overwhelming victory).  

Recently I started playing World of Warcraft again to get a little more online hang out time with some real life friends that are more than a little scattered across the country.  In no time I was meeting a ton of new players from the guild and getting to know each of them through chat or over the headset.  

When news that our guildie Kimilyn had passed away broke, I felt compelled to make something to honor a fellow gamer whose own passion for the game and specifically the PVP aspects of it drove me to play a little harder when I was lucky enough to step into a battleground with her.  She was kind, caring, fun, and utterly ruthless on the field of battle.  

Kimilyn’s guild note says it all: “PVP.thats it.PVP.nothing else”

Leave a comment