Rothgarrin

RothgarrinWeb

Rothgarrin – Ink and Digital Color

I love working on fan art.  I don’t do it often but I have a blast when I do.  There’s just something fun about creating imagery based on characters, places and things you spend so much time with.  Be it video games, movies, tv shows or comics.  It’s also great practice.  So much so that this piece helped me solidify the direction I’ve been wanting to go with my digital color work.

I have tried in the past to do a full digital style like this, but I’ve never been happy with the lines that come from it.  This piece used ink line work, from the Pentel Brush Pen, that I just did on a whim in my sketchbook while I sat around waiting for an appointment.  This was the lead up to the Triumphy piece I shared earlier, and set how I wanted to work on them.  The colors and technique is more refined in the other piece as well, but without spending the time here, I wouldn’t have even had that commission pop up!

Leave a Reply

